Baby Steps

Trying your best to convey messages,
Quickly crawling away to your favourite toy,
And falling everytime you tried standing;
These were some of the few things
I loved witnessing.

Day by day,
A new change,
A new behaviour.

Today,
When I saw you,
Speaking so fluently,
Telling me everything that happened in preschool,
And running around while having fun,
I couldn’t help but think,
“Where has time gone?”

It seemed like just yesterday
When I saw you take your baby steps.

Seeing so much progress
And how much you’ve grown
Makes me very proud,
And excited for your future self.

But,
As much as I can’t wait for tomorrow to come,
I don’t want today to end.

I want to continue living this childhood of yours with you.
So, can we please, slow down on the growing up?

Leave a Reply

